Current Issue cover

2019 Successful Hands Grant Program Winners Announced

Contact Author

Thank you for your inquiry. Please note that the author cannot provide individual medical advice. Also, if you have a customer service question, email customer service at

Fill out my online form.

Performance Health and Massage Envy Franchising, LLC have announced the winners of the 2019 Successful Hands Grant Program.

Performance Health and Massage Envy Franchising, LLC have announced the winners of the 2019 Successful Hands Grant Program, which is a six-year collaboration that supports professional massage therapy students by awarding eight individuals $1,000 educational grants. Each winner’s school is also awarded a $1,000 grant package.

Program applicants were asked to complete a 200-word essay on “What is your ultimate goal as a massage therapist?” The 2019 program, which was launched in February, was expanded with the offer of a free American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) Student Membership to all applicants. AMTA is the largest nonprofit, professional association serving massage therapists, students and schools.

2019 Successful Hands Grant winners:

  • Chaecie Bullock, Kneaded Energy School of Massage, Greensboro, NC
  • Jinju Fong, Palm Beach State College, Boca Raton, FL
  • Stephanie Foster, Northwest Academy of the Healing Arts, Bellingham, WA
  • Melissa Hawkins, Northwest Academy for the Healing Arts, Bellingham, WA
  • Noelle Jaroch, American Academy of Health and Beauty, Manchester, NH
  • Priscilla Tamborini, National Holistic Institute, Sacramento, CA
  • Vincent Thompson, Harrisburg Area Community College, Harrisburg, PA
  • Monica Vigil, National Holistic Institute, Santa Rosa, CA

2019 review committee members:

  • Darren Buford, Editor-in-Chief, Massage & Bodywork Scott Dartnall, President and CEO, One Concept
  • Mae Manacap-Johnson, Editor, The Gospel of Beauty
  • Karen Menehan, Editor in Chief, MASSAGE Magazine
  • Douglas Nelson, President, Massage Therapy Foundation

“Thank you to all the students and schools who participated this year,” said Craig Hall, director of sales and education, Performance Health. "We are always grateful for the opportunity to invest in the future of the massage therapy profession and this program is one of my favorite ways to do so. I am delighted to announce this year’s winners.”

“We’re proud to continue partnering with Performance Health on this program that helps so many future therapists pursue their calling,” said Beth Stiller, president and CEO of Massage Envy. “We’re so thankful to AMTA for making the nomination process an even more rewarding experience this year and to the selection committee who had the incredibly difficult task of selecting this year’s winners.”

“AMTA was honored to collaborate in this effort for massage therapy students to begin their education and careers with free student membership in the largest and most respected massage organization,” added Christopher Deery, AMTA national president. “And we’re delighted that we’ll be part of the 2020 grant program, allowing us to support even more students.”

“We can’t wait to see what the 2019 winners accomplish and we look forward to kicking off the 2020 Successful Hands Grant Program early next year,” concluded Hall. “Be part of our Facebook community to stay up to date on all the launch details.”