ASA Presents Mentorship, Research Awards


The American Skin Association (ASA) bestowed the David Martin Carter Mentor and Research Achievement awards at the Annual Meeting of the Society for Investigative Dermatology.

The awards were presented by David A. Norris, MD, chair of the ASA Medical Advisory Committee. Recipients were celebrated at a dinner hosted by the organization at the Rosen Shingle Creek Resort.

Kathleen Green, Ph.D., of the Feinberg School of Medicine at Northwestern University received the David Martin Carter Mentor Award.

The David Martin Carter Mentor Award honors members of the dermatology community who exemplifies the characteristics associated with the late David Martin Carter, M.D., Ph.D., who worked tirelesslywith ASA founder George Hambrick M.D. to grow the organization and lead efforts in defeating melanoma, skin cancer and other skin disease.

Green operates the Green Laboratory at Northwestern University, which aims to understand the molecular basis for how cells stick together, to both provide mechanical strength to tissues and regulate chemical signals crucial for development and differentiation. Sha has authored numerous scholarly articles.

“We were very proud to honor Dr. Kathleen Green with the 2018 David Martin Carter Mentor Award. A renowned researcher and educator, Dr. Green is the 26th honoree to receive this prestigious award,” said Norris. “Throughout her distinguished research career, she has brought cutting edge basic molecular research techniques to the study of important skin diseases.  In so doing, she has prepared a generation of young scientists for careers in investigative dermatology.”

Established in 1989, the ASA Research Achievement Awards identify established scientists in investigative dermatology and cutaneous biology. For 2018, the awards recognized those who have advanced work in the fields of autoimmune and inflammatory skin diseases, melanoma and non-melanoma skin cancer, and vitiligo and pigment cell disorders.

Awards presented included:

  • Research Achievement Award in Psoriasis
    April Armstrong, M.D., MPH (Keck School of Medicine of USC)
  • Research Achievement Award in Autoimmune and Inflammatory Skin Disorders
    Lisa Beck, M.D., Universiry of Rochester Medical Center
  • Research Achievement Award in Vitiligo and Pigment Cell Biology
    John Harris, MD, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts Medical School
  • Research Achievement Award in Melanoma and Skin Cancer
    Allan Halpern, M.D., Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Research Achievement Award in Public Policy and Medical Education
    Jack Resneck Jr., M.D., University of California San Francisco School of Medicine

Noted Norris: “We are excited to present the Research Achievement Award this year. Doctors Armstrong, Beck, Harris, Halpern and Resneck all made tremendous strides in their respective fields. ASA is proud to celebrate their outstanding achievements.”

More in MedSpa