Assessing the Damage

Skin assessments with each client will reveal a lot about their lifestyles and previous damage to the skin, but there are also a few other classification tools professionals may utilize to determine a client’s level of deterioration and susceptibility to future aging.

The Glogau Classification of Photoaging, otherwise known as the “wrinkle scale,” helps determine the severity of the photodamage primarily visible in the form of discoloration and wrinkles. This tool helps in choosing a proper corrective treatment for individual clients based on the progression of photoaging for each skin type and the symptoms that may develop at various ages.


Type I: No wrinkles—early photoaging

✓ Minimal-to-no discoloration or wrinkling

✓ No keratosis (skin overgrowth)

✓ Minimal or no makeup needed


Type II: Wrinkles in motion—early-to-moderate photoaging

✓ Wrinkling as skin moves

✓ Slight lines near the eyes and mouth

✓ Early brown spots visible

✓ Keratoses palpable but not visible

✓ Usually a need for some makeup


Type III: Wrinkles at rest—advanced photoaging

✓ Visible wrinkles all the time

✓ Noticeable discolorations

✓ Visible keratosis and capillaries (telangiectasias)

✓ Generally a need for heavy foundation


Type IV: Only wrinkles—severe photoaging

✓ Wrinkles throughout with no normal skin

✓ Yellow-gray color to skin

✓ Prior skin malignancies

✓ Makeup not usable because it cakes and cracks